My California Adventure

So…it’s been a while.

 

A really long while since I last posted. But you know, life gets in the way and other things just end up taking a back seat. Hopefully, I can start to get caught up on the Disney things I’ve been up to since my last posting, because those Disney things were pretty cool and such meaningful memories to me and I would love to share them!

But before I start to look back, in true Walt Disney style, let’s instead look forward!

Next month I am taking my very first trip to California, and of course that means my very first trip to Disneyland! This trip is such an impromptu adventure and it was only recently pulled together, but as of today, flights are booked, plans are being solidified, and most importantly, Disneyland schedules have been consulted!

Now, the whole reason for this California trip isn’t to visit Disneyland. I have to keep telling myself that this isn’t a Disney trip.

This. Isn’t. A. Disney. Trip.

This is to celebrate my friend’s birthday. She used to live out in L.A. and so I’m helping to celebrate with her back in one of her favorite places with some of her California friends. Of the four, yes only four, days we will be in California, only ONE of those will be spent on Disney property.  It actually starts to stress me out thinking about all of the things I want to do there and how there is absolutely no way to squeeze all of the Disneyland nostalgia, history, and just plain amazingness into like eighteen hours. Yes, I will just need to go back at some point!

So I decided that in my pre Disneyland excitedness, before the long weekend extravaganza where there will be no sleeping, and we will all be surviving on caffeine and adrenaline, that I would create my Disneyland Must Do’s. This is so that in my sleep deprived state I will at least have a plan of attack! I have to split this out into two categories. One is attractions and the other is miscellaneous, because as a Disney fan there is so much more to the Disneyland Resort than how long the Radiator Springs Racers standby line is. (Although RSR is definitely on my must do!)

So for all of you Disneyland veterans out there, let me know if there is something that is missing off of either of my lists that a Disney fan can’t leave property without visiting!

 

Attractions – Disneyland

1. Haunted Mansion.

For obvious reasons.

2. Pirates of the Caribbean.

Again obvious…

3. Indiana Jones Adventure

Walt Disney World doesn’t have this attraction and it’s popular with so many Disneylanders that I definitely need to check this out.

4. Big Thunder Mountain

I’m not sure how different this one is from Walt Disney World, but I passed on doing the one at Disneyland Paris because I thought they were the same and then later found out I should have waited in line!

5. Alice in Wonderland

Again, mostly because WDW doesn’t have this classic and because I am a fan of the Disney Dark Ride 🙂

6. Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride

I vaguely remember this one from when I was little and it was in WDW, so I would love to take a trip down memory lane! Plus, I believe this is a DL opening day original!

7. It’s A Small World

Again, pretty obvious… I have to see where the never ending refrain started! I heard that the exterior has been hidden though due to anniversary preparations. I hope not!

8. Space Mountain

Can’t wait to check this one out! I love the WDW one for my own nostalgic reasons, but I also loved the Disneyland Paris version. I need to see how this one compares!

9. Finding Nemo Submarines

I’m kind of flip flopping whether this is a must do for me. I hear the lines can get pretty long, but I think the idea of going in those subs is so cool.

10. The Castle Walkthrough

This seems like a sleeper must do. When I ask others what I need to put on my list, this one is always mentioned but thrown in at the last minute. So everyone always seems to think of it, it’s just not the first one to pop in their heads!

***When I’m there both Peter Pan and the Matterhorn will be closed for renovations otherwise both of those would have been on my Must Do’s***

Miscellaneous – Disneyland

Most of these have to do with just taking in the ambience and enjoying my surroundings.

1. The light in the window above the Fire Station

2. Check out the windows on Main Street

3.  Drink a Mint Julep and have Mickey beignets

4. Take a picture of the Partners statue

5. Eat a corn dog – I’ve never had a corn dog but I hear Disneyland does them right

6. Go shopping at the Music Store on Main Street.

7. Find the entrance to Club 33

8. Visit the Snow White wishing well

**I’m going to put the following two on my list because they would be must do’s, but won’t be available when I’m there. I just couldn’t really bring myself to remove them**

9. Meet and Greet with Thor and Captain America.

We don’t get the Avengers in WDW. They still belong to the park down the street, so seeing them in a Disney surrounding would have been awesome. But it looks like at this point these meet and greets won’t be available starting April 1st…

10. Take a picture in front of Sleeping Beauty Castle.

I can’t believe I finally make it out to California and the castle will be hidden by a giant sheet. When I went to Disneyland Paris the bottom half of that beautiful castle was also under renovation. I’ve been to WDW an insane number of times and I have never had it hidden from view – cranes in the background more times than not, yes, but not actually hidden… soo bummed about this. It’s just the way my luck works. I’m sure when the castle is unveiled it will be beautiful though.

 

I’ll list my Disney California Adventure Must Do’s in another post, but until then, let me know what you think I need to add, replace, or delete!! I’m not really thinking in terms of realistic time patterns. Just a Disney fan’s optimistic thinking. We’ll start tweaking the plan as the day goes on. Until then I’m going in super confident in my Disney stamina and in the coffee at Jolly Holiday!

 

 

Leave a comment